COLÀ DI LAZISE

Historical Outline: The small village is mentioned for the first time in the will of Engelberto dated on 28 May 861 with the name of Colata which probably derives from the Latin "colere" and indicates that the territory originally appeared as a large tract of land cultivated in the middle of the forest. Circa 898, when the Hungarians invaded Italy, the village defensive walls were erected; these were lost over the centuries.
In 1530 Charles V of Hapsburg, emperor of the Holy Roman Empire, was received in Colà, returning from Bologna where he had been crowned by the Pope; a plaque placed outside the oldest building of the Villa dei Cedri complex commemorates the event. Under the rule of the Serenissima, Colà was a small town in the Vicariate of Lazise, ​​it became a hamlet in 1804, during the Napoleonic Italian Republic. During the first war of independence, in 1848 the village was occupied by Piedmontese troops, while during the third war of independence numerous wounded soldiers were treated there during the battle of Custoza in 1866.
A verdant hilly landscape surrounds the picturesque center of Cola and its characteristic cobblestone walls, which in ancient times divided the rural estates and surrounded the large villas. The historical villas of Colà include: Villa Moscardo (XV century), Villa dei Cedri (XVIII century), Villa Fumanelli (XVII or XVIII century) and Villa Da Sacco (XIX century); all privately owned. The Parish of Colà is located in Via Castello, near the church of San Giorgio Martire, from the inner courtyard you can enjoy a magnificent view of the valley below, among other things. The he most important events during the year we are the Ancient Festival of the Madonna della Neve, the Festa dei Popoli and the Carnival.

PIAZZA DON VANTINI

CHIESA DI S.GIORGIO MARTIRE

VILLA DA SACCO

VISTA DEL BORGO

PARCO DELLA PIAZZA